Forgotten Painting Uncovered

April 18, 2010

Crafthole & I have been sleeping on the living room floor in my mum&dad’s house since he came back from Ireland, but finally today we cleared out a little room that we can call our own. It’s just about the size of our fold-out double bed (so the whole room looks like a nest now the bed’s set up), has no heating and we had to wash mildew off the walls, but it is OURS, at least for now.

It has been used as a store room since they have lived here and we found quite a few things that haven’t seen the light of day in ages; first among these for me was this painting, which I’d totally forgotten about.

As I wrote in a previous post, I had a three or four month period almost a decade ago when I did almost all the painting I’ve ever done in my life. I believe that this is the very first one.

It is a copy of this Chardin:

which I think is beautiful. Here’s my version again:

I’ve never seen them next to each other quite like this before, it’s really weird for me.

It looks rubbish next to the original but it’s still amazing how much better it looks when it’s scanned in: like a proper painting :-)

Leave a Reply

