Is that a Bandwagon? *jump*

March 16, 2010

I’ve seen a few things lately and thought Damnit I could do that. One of these things was a website “selling” images for “money”. At the moment mine are all freely available to download from flickr; there’s even an ‘order print’ button which I think goes out to a third party printers and I wouldn’t even know if you clicked on it, let alone get any of this “money”. So I have been working on a website. It’s still draft and has a few things to iron out (or start again from scratch, I haven’t quite decided). I’ve even bought a domain name:

LucyMartinArt.co.uk

(not to be confused with lucymartinart.com or lucymartin.co.uk……. damnit)

Another thing I saw recently was a self-publishing site (lulu.com) which I found through a friend’s flickr profile, via the link to her own Photography Book…. well yes you can read my thoughts. Within about half a minute I’d registered and was busy getting myself an ISBN and barcode made up while still wondering what I was going to do.

I had a thought and googled the word Roundography, which is such a daft word that nobody seems to have coined it yet. It made me laugh so I formed my plan.

I spent the next few evenings on it and now have a set of forty or so draft spreads, of which these are ten (& covers):

I thought maybe an introduction and a section on how to make a Roundograph (as they shall be called until I become embarrassed by the word) and that’s all done… can it be that easy? I have yet to find out how much it will cost me. I can afford about five pounds (really) if I cut down on cream eggs so *fingers crossed*.

As for the website, I know the layout is not very well thought-out and may also be just an experiment that gets abandoned (again if I can’t do it for free then I can’t do it). I am desperate for advice of any kind on any of these topics: I know nothing about website design (hence the free online flash template I’ve used – their server is SO SLOW) and have no experience of writing for a book: what level should I pitch it at, who am I actually talking to? As for the design, I was told once (years ago) that some of my layouts are a little “claustrophobic” and was too embarrassed to ask what exactly they meant. Does anybody know?

So if you would like to impart some knowledge to a grateful recipient, please do get in touch (especially if you think I’m going about this completely the wrong way).

Thanks for your indulgence *curtseys*

3 Responses to “Is that a Bandwagon? *jump*”

  1. I don’t think I can help with any of your technical questions!

    Might want to have a look at Richard Schillings Land Art website:
    http://jrlandart.blogspot.com/
    He uses Blurb for photograph books. The thing I’d be concerned with is colour calibration. I had a brief look around for people printing posters and none of them mentioned colour calibration.

    • Yeah its all so automated that you don’t get any control. There’s nowhere for colourbars & you certainly don’t get proof copies. What’s also alarming is that they don’t even want you to include a bleed so it might all end up horribly cropped! I think they really want you to let them do all the typesetting and charge you lots of money… fair enough I suppose… if you want to do something on the cheap…

      Thank you for your link, I love that man & am going through his flickr page. I will definitely look into Blurb.

  2. Jim said

    I’ve registered with lulu before, with the aim of doing some more typographical work, I think they’re good on the whole, from what I’ve heard from friends who have used them.

    I think your images are fantastic, and you could probably play around with their layout until the cows come home. See how others present their portfolio prints in books, are you trying to tell a story with each image – if so how much will you write about each one?

    I like the idea of explaining how you produce a roundograph (as I, for one, am struggling to figure it out) – then again, maybe it could be your trade secret? In which case, another narrative could found.

    Your images put me in mind of Kit William’s Masquerade – I know yours are quite different, but the unique perspective made it pop into my mind. Not that I’m saying you should turn it into a treasure hunt or anything, but it’s an interesting thought to play on – another way of portraying your art.

    When adding text to a book that is very much about image, the typography also needs to be beautiful yet unobtrusive.

    Blogs like A Working Library can get you hooked into people who obsess (in a good way) about the graceful art of guiding people’s eyes across a page.

    Good luck ;-)

Leave a Reply

