Museum Volunteering (2006-8ish)

February 24, 2010

More archive things. Here are a few things I made for the Oxford University Museum of Natural History (none of which was official and none of which was ever actually used) during my time as a volunteer.

I have always liked museums. I first became interested in archaeology during a museum visit: it was an exhibition of Ancient Egyptian objects in London and I remember being struck by the locks on display for some reason. I’ve always been good at drawing so I formed an idea of becoming an archaeological illustrator when I grew up. To cut a long story short, this I did. However, I still really liked museums. It only occurred to me a few years ago, while I was working in Oxford, that I could raise my sights to museum work.

With that very much in mind I began volunteering at events. There are several museums in Oxford and (since by then I had discovered my overriding love of natural history) I have always been fondest of the Natural History Museum. I volunteered at a few one-off events before managing to insinuate myself there as a volunteer cataloguer of the diverse and intriguing education handling collection.

It was during this period when I discovered how to make 3D images and naturally tried it out on the objects I was cataloguing and the museum interior, a very few of which are up on flickr.

I showed them these very proudly and also made some publicity mock-ups for them (as if they didn’t have their own designers…) in the form of a poster…

…and some christmas cards which I made up and gave out in 2007 and 2008.

These images were never used (the poster with the girl coming out of the roof almost got made) but they were very good experience for me, not to mention great fun, to make. I have taken a further step towards museum work now as I worked on placement at the National Conservation Centre in Liverpool for three months last summer where I managed to get hold of a couple of poster design jobs, even though it was nothing to do with what I was doing (and they employ a whole graphics department there).

Leave a Reply

