Survey Song

December 18, 2009

Having fallen in love, Gary realises that Annie won’t surrender to him lightly. At this stage though, he is not disheartened in the least and doesn’t deny himself the pleasure of dreaming about his love:

If I could survey deep beneath the surface that’s seen
I would see underneath with my geo-physics machines.
My resistance meter would beep its results
And explain why she resists and makes life so difficult.
I would see if she’s soft and conductive inside,
Or got a heart that’s hard and all that implies.
If I could turn her emotions into tangible things,
I could mould her devotions and make me her king!

If I could probe her resistance to my magnetism
I’d understand her indifference to my favouritism
With my magnetometer held in my hand
I could get right inside her and I might understand.
She’s as magnetic as any slag deposit
But from slags and ores she’s completely the opposite;
So could this explain the high resistance result?
If she were slag or ore she would need no pursuit.

If I could survey her thoughts with my total station
I could write a report of conjectured information
I’d study my findings and interpret the data
And I’d find the right answer there sooner or later.
I’d survey her contours, her features, her curves,
I’d sketch them and plan them as their beauty deserves.
And while I am surveying with the level on a tripod,
Maybe she’d even hold my long ranging rod.

If I could study her shapely mounds and her features,
I’d excavate patiently in all the right places.
The strata I’d strip down gently layer by layer,
Until I came to the natural and all there is there.
I’d use my tool to dig deep inside
And uncover the golden treasures they hide;
And when she was open and exposed in all glory
Unlike my other digs, that’s not the end of the story.

If I could record all my findings with graph paper and lead,
The report would be blinding though your eyes were well fed.
With my plumb bob dangling and tape measure tight
And my pencil in hand I would do the job right.
And then she’d repay me with riches of joy
Make me feel like a man, not this love-struck young boy!
Then maybe she’ll dig herself as deep as I’ve done
Then we’d never climb out and the two would be one.

Next Song

Previous Song

List of Songs

Leave a Reply

