I Dig Everything!

December 18, 2009

Gary and Annie are married at the archaeologists annual general meeting. Thunderous, rapturous applause greets them as they say their vows and finally “I do”. Annie has a makeshift bouquet made from a little arrangement of flowers already in the room. She throws this and it is caught by one of the women. Gary looks at the scene while the orchestra picks up volume and momentum with a catchy, high-energy tune. There are lots of exciting, flashing lights on stage as Gary raises his glass and sings to the crowd:

To my friends who’re here this day,
Who helped me to come through,
To you I have to say,
A big sincere thank you.
I’ve had my share of trial
I almost gave up hope.
And I make no denial:
Without you I could not cope.

Gary ‘s toast goes down well and all partake. He continues after a swig:

Now I’m telling everyone,
Just come and join the fun!
Life at last is good,
And so we really should,
Enjoy it all the more
Because of what we risked before.
So I lift my voice and sing:
I dig EVERYTHING!

I dig all the bees
And the birds in the trees
And the people I love
And the clouds up above!
I dig a nice pint of beer
And all of you here!
This ring I am wearing
And the love we are sharing!

All the assembled people begin dancing and sing the chorus again. The atmosphere is very fun and frollicky as people dance. Into this Annie sings:

I promise that when you come home to me,
From digging I’ll not give you flack,
If you’re all covered in mud when you turn the key
After all, brown is this year’s black!

Now I’m telling everyone,
Just come and join the fun!
Life at last is good,
And so we really should,
Enjoy it all the more
Because of what we risked before.
So I lift my voice and sing:
I dig EVERYTHING!

I dig all the bees
And the birds in the trees
And the people I love
And the clouds up above!
I dig a nice pint of beer
And all of you here!
This ring I am wearing
And the love we are sharing!

Gary puts his arm round Annie and sings:
 

I’m a digging man by nature,
And digging is my trade.
My good temper does not waver,
Though it has been known to fade.
Even out on site when it’s raining,
And I’m covered all over in crud,
You’ll never hear me complaining,
I dig mucking about in the mud!

I dig all the bees
And the birds in the trees
And the people I love
And the clouds up above!
I dig a nice pint of beer
And all of you here!
This ring I am wearing
And the love we are sharing!

THE END

Previous Song

List of Songs

Leave a Reply

