I’m level-headed!

December 18, 2009

Gary has just found something of astonishing archaeological value. As the shiny gold glints up on him, Gary lifts his face and shows his colleges. The orchestra has already begun playing the tune of the song as all the diggers stop what they’re doing and crowd round Gary’s feature. He can’t believe his luck and swears that whatever comes of his change of fortune he won’t forget where he came from:

I think we should level with each other.
So that we understand one another
I’ll hold the staff very close to me
And you take the reading of what you can see:
I’m level-headed!
I’m level-headed!

I may be high as a cloud
But my feet are firmly on the ground
I know exactly how high I am:
I won’t forget where I came from
I’m level-headed!
I’m level-headed!

I want to level with you all
So we all know where we are
I’m not too high: I will not fall
Even if I become a star!
I’ll never try to leave your level, man!
Though the drug of fame is heady
I’ll always know just how high I am
If you promise to hold my staff steady.

My backsight reads clear,
I’ve got my trusty staff here
My tripod legs are straight
And they’re steady with my weight
I’m level-headed!
I’m level-headed!

My bubble’s staying in the middle
So I know I’m firmly level
To check I spun myself around
And yes: my feet are still on the ground:
I’m level-headed!
I’m level-headed!

I want to level with you all
So we all know where we are
I’m not too high: I will not fall
Even if I become a star!
I’ll never try to leave your level, man!
Though the drug of fame is heady
I’ll always know just how high I am
If you promise to hold my staff steady.

We’re on the same level
And so we’ll stay forever
Happy diggers hand in hand
Happy digging up the land
I’m level-headed!
I’m level-headed!

I’m levelling with you now!
I’m on the level, trusty and sound.
I’ll not go too high, head in the clouds up there,
Nor will I go down and sink to despair:
I’m level-headed!
I’m level-headed!

I want to level with you all
So we all know where we are
I’m not too high: I will not fall
Even if I become a star!
I’ll never try to leave your level, man!
Though the drug of fame is heady
I’ll always know just how high I am
If you promise to hold my staff steady.

Next Song

Previous Song

List of Songs

Leave a Reply

