Fieldwalking

December 18, 2009

Sung by a very lonely and disillusioned Annie. She has believed the lies that Anton has told her and feels that the best thing to do is simply to walk away. She is clearly choked with emotion as she sings:

All my feelings are telling me
To stay where I am and see
If our true love can weather the test.
But all that my mind can say
Is don’t be a fool: walk away!
And don’t look back; it’s for the best.

I know I’m upsetting you
And maybe I am a fool
But I just can’t stay knowing what I know.
I may be making a huge mistake
But it’s a risk that I just can’t take.
To save myself, I’ve just got to go.

So I’m fieldwalking with eyes cast down
I’m fieldwalking with tears and a frown.
I’ll try not to look back at all I’m leaving behind,
I’ll just look down: who knows what I’ll find!
I don’t want to go – I just want to stay
But I’m fieldwalking, fieldwalking away.

My love wells up inside of me
And my tears flow so I can’t see.
Am I right to leave him far behind?
If I just keep my head down,
And simply stare at the ground,
I’ll be gone ‘fore I’ve to make up my mind!

I know that he does love me,
But is he really trustworthy?
Does a man like that really exist?
It’s hard to find as a piece of clay,
Lost in a whole field of hay,
I don’t know if I’ve energy to persist.

I’m fieldwalking with eyes cast down
I’m fieldwalking with tears and a frown.
I’ll try not to look back at all I’m leaving behind,
I’ll just look down: who knows what I’ll find!
I don’t want to go – I just want to stay
But I’m fieldwalking, fieldwalking away.

If I cannot trust him, then
How can I love him then?
If I can’t love him I’ll love no other men.
I’m beginning to feel love’s just a chimera.
Is it really the great panacea?
I don’t think I can love again.

I am fieldwalking with eyes cast down
I’m fieldwalking with tears and a frown.
I’ll try not to look back at all I’m leaving behind,
I’ll just look down: who knows what I’ll find!
I don’t want to go – I just want to stay
But I’m fieldwalking, fieldwalking away.

Next Song

Previous Song

List of Songs

Leave a Reply

