Career In Ruins

December 18, 2009

Gary’s hopes of a career in archaeology are dashed as Anton sees to it once and for all that he is disgraced. In the pits of despair Gary walks away from the unit to an uncertain future…

What has become of me?
Oh what has become of me?
My career in ruins is in ruins!
Oh what has become of me?

My career in ruins started off high
I excelled at my job; the only limit was the sky!
I’ve excavated ruins up and down the land.
From Birdoswald to Richborough I’ve dug them all and,
Now I am ruined, what’s become of me?
I could just lie down and join the archaeology!
Then if they dug up my body in five hundred years,
They will find a ruined man who is stained with his tears.

Oh what has become of me?
Oh what has become of me?
My career in ruins is in ruins!
Oh what has become of me?

My career’s in ruins and I’ll not try
To explain to other people the real reason why!
They all believe wrong, they just think I lied
Though it was truth that I frantically cried!
Now I am ruined, and I’ve nowhere to go!
All these years spent digging and I’ve nothing to show.
I have no hope left. There’s no fight left in me.
This cloud has no silver lining that my eyes can see.

Oh what has become of me?
Oh what has become of me?
My career in ruins is in ruins!
Oh what has become of me?

At this point Annie’s voice can be heard from off-stage. Gary turns round in delight as she walks towards him, singing. She sings loudly and clearly and the orchestra gets louder too in a rousing and emotional finale to the song.

Your career’s in ruins but it’s never too late
To rebuild the fallen timber and slate
Of your broken down dreams and ideals,
for a little building and loving care heals.
If we persevere we can prove to them all
How you were pushed: you did not fall!
Remember that your wrongs can be made right,
If together we work and put up a fight!

The two of them kiss then leave the stage arm in arm as the orchestra picks up momentum and ends the song in a rousing anthemic way. This symbolises the turning point of the play.

Next Song

Previous Song

List of Songs

Leave a Reply

