Joyous new arrival!

April 29, 2011

I posted this .gif shortly after I made it in my post about zoetropes. I wanted a good record of my eight-and-a-half month pregnant body before the long-anticipated Event, which could have happened any time.

That was 27th March, and one week later, on 3rd April, a few days before his official due date, George Frederick, or Freddy as he is known by his family, was born. He changes everything, and not just for us. I am now a mother, Crafthole is now a father, my mum and dad are now grandparents and my siblings are uncle and aunt for the first time. It seemed to us in our delirium of newness and happiness that he changed the whole world: he appeared in the precise week that the buds on the trees became leaves and the blossom bloomed for the start of spring. The trees outside my hospital window were bare when we went in, and green when we came out, blinking. They really were. Freddy was the Bringer of Spring.

On 20th April we returned to exactly the same spot as above and took another series of photographs (and just look at the difference).

The .gifs below were taken largely because I cannot help myself… He is shown being weighed on his fifth day of life as a citizen of the world,

and being bathed against his will about a week later.


2 Responses to “Joyous new arrival!”

  1. Lauren said

    adorable, congrats!

  2. Eve said

    What amazing creativity. I love it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

