First Zoetrope Strip!

March 29, 2011

I’ve recently developed a new obsession, which I think I can trace back to the wonderful Muybridgizer iPhone app. This was made to accompany Tate Britain’s recent Muybridge exhibition, which unfortunately I never actually saw. It’s a lovely fun app that allows you to make little movies, Victorian style, covering movement lasting around a second. Here’s a lovely post demonstrating the app better than I could.

This got me thinking: what a lovely way to make my family album come to life. I’m due to give birth in a week or two and have been thinking a lot about how to document the new arrival in a way that feels permanent and interesting.

This was an attempt of mine last weekend when Crafthole & I walked out in the beautiful springtime sun and took a little sequence to show off my 8 1/2 month pregnant belly:

However, the lack of any way of exporting the moving image or individual frames really limits the usefulness of the app in making a real record. I decided therefore I would be better, and happier, doing it myself. So, I cast around for a zoetrope of my own and settled on this little one from Ancient Magic Toys:

After taking my little Muybridgizer sequence, we switched to the proper camera and took a sequence of twelve, which I treated in photoshop:

…and made into a strip:

I now have only to wait for the zoetrope to arrive to see how it actually works out, but in the meantime I’ve made myself a little sneak preview. I think it will work out fine! (if the animation below doesn’t automatically start, click on the image)

This should be the first of many little movies this year, I think it will be the start of a lovely family album.

5 Responses to “First Zoetrope Strip!”

  1. Grannygal said

    Lovely idea- beautiful pictures-happy landings!

  2. Tom Sykes said

    Ah love that app. Making real Zoetrope strip is a great idea! All you need to do now is capture the birth in glorious Muybridge style ;)

  3. annmucc said

    Hope everything goes well for you in the next few weeks :)! Congrats and good luck!

  4. I love this idea! I was looking for wonderful ways of using a Zoetrope as i’m about to learn how to create them! This is such a lovely thing to have in a memory box, do you mind if i link to your page from my blog? (Its only a very new blog!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

